Journalist Prize “Altiero Spinelli”


The Spinelli Institute established in Ventotene the “Altiero Spinelli Prize” to be awarded to the best journalist service on the theme of European unification. The choice of the journalist awarded with the Prize will take place during the meeting of the Jury, according to the Regulation, which includes, in addition to the Institute, the Lazio Region, the Province of Latina, the City of Ventotene, the Italian Council of the European Movement and the European Federalist Movement.

The ceremony for the presentation of the award takes place every year in Ventotene, during the traditional seminars for young federalists that takes place on the island. This year the prize “Altiero Spinelli”, awarded of the Medal of the President of the Italian Republic, will be given to Sergio Fabbrini, Director of Luiss School of Government. The award ceremony will take place Friday, September 8th, 2017 in Ventotene.


Journalists Prize winners in previous editions:

Edition 2010 – Ferdinando Riccardi, formerly the director of the press “Agence Europe” Bruxelles
Edition 2011 – Jean Quatremer, Libération journalist and author of the known and authoritative blog “Coulisses de Bruxelles”
Edition 2012 – Carlo Bastasin, columnist for “Il Sole 24 Ore” and Senior Fellow of the Brookings Institute
Edition 2013 – Michael Braun, Rome correspondent for Tageszeitung and Director of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung
Edition 2014 – Marco Zatterin, Brussels correspondent for La Stampa and curator of Straneuropa blog
Edition 2015 – not awarded
Edition 2016 – Beda Romano, Brussels correspondent for “Il Sole 24 Ore”

Edition 2017 – Sergio Fabbrini, Director of Luiss School of Government

Edition 2018 – Eric Jozsef, correspondent from Italy for Liberation